As a manufacturer, fewer things make us prouder than your enthusiasm for our vehicles. That’s why we’re so excited to bring back the Chevy SEMA Design Awards for 2021. Highlighting some of your greatest custom Chevy builds, the awards program celebrates creativity and innovation in design.

Registration and Participation

  • Registration open to U.S. residents only
  • Entrants must register by 11:59 PM EST on October 22, 2021, to be considered for an award.
  • One wild card entry will be permitted for registration at the show
  • Preregistration isn’t required for the Designer’s Choice Award
  • By registering, you will be asked to support certain mutually agreed-upon Chevrolet marketing activities during and after the SEMA show to qualify

Build Requirements

  • Builds must preserve the Chevrolet bowtie emblem, if originally equipped
  • Builds must feature a Chevrolet gas powertrain, a Duramax® Diesel powertrain, a GM electric powertrain or a non-competitive OEM electric powertrain
  • Use of current body style Chevrolet vehicles, Performance parts, accessories and crate engines is highly encouraged

Photo Requirements

After completing the registration form, you’ll need to submit renderings, photos of the build progression and final photos to


  • Photo requirements include front ¾, rear ¾, engine and interior
  • All Chevrolet SEMA Design Award participant in-progress build images and final stage images may be featured on Chevrolet Performance social media channels leading up to #ChevySEMA

Get Inspired

Check out some of our Performance and powertrain parts as well as official Accessories to help get your build in gear.

Chevrolet Performance

Chevrolet Accessories

Chevrolet Crate Engines


Use of innovative technology is encouraged – including, but not limited to, the following:

  • 3-D manufacturing
  • Exotic materials
  • Paint and lighting
  • Display
  • Fusing of modern technology in a classic application (Example: Use of Chevrolet Performance ZR2 Long Travel Dynamic Suspension Spool Valve (DSSV) Shocks on a K5 Blazer)

Award Categories

Custom builds will be judged according to the following categories:


  • Chevy SEMA Car of the Year
  • Chevy SEMA Truck of the Year
  • Innovative Use of Technology
  • Designer’s Choice

Award Benefits

The winners of each category will receive an exclusive award presented by Chevrolet and be featured on our various media channels.

Winners must provide release and consent as requested by GM, including, but not limited to, publication of winner’s work and winner’s name, likeness and voice as a condition to receiving award benefits mentioned above. Award benefits subject to change by Chevrolet without notice at the discretion of Chevrolet.

Actual award may vary.

Register your build for the 2021 Chevy Design Awards.

Follow all the action.

Connect with Chevy Performance for the most up-to-date news and announcements from the 2021 SEMA show.