• Motorsports Motorsports
  • Popular
  • Recent

Chevrolet earns 11th straight NASCAR Sprint Cup Series™ Manufacturers’ Championship

When the checkered flag flew at Martinsville Speedway on October 27, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series ™ driver Jeff Gordon’s victory sealed the 2013 Manufacturers’ Cup for Chevrolet – three full races before the end of the grueling 36-race NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season.

It was the 11th straight Manufacturers’ Cup, with an unprecedented total of 37 Manufacturers’ Cups for Chevrolet.

Does that mean Chevrolet could breathe easy until the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway? Not on your life. Because Chevrolet driver Jimmie Johnson still had a Drivers’ Championship to win – his sixth, which he sealed in that last race in dramatic fashion. No active driver can match Johnson’s total. And we are pretty sure the 38-year-old Californian isn’t through yet.

It’s difficult to express how much a Manufacturers’ Cup trophy means, but even the shiniest hardware isn’t representative of Chevrolet’s motorsports ethos. With each race, each lap, each tenth-of-a-second gain, it’s about extracting the ultimate contribution of man and machine, of ice-cold nerves, red-hot technology. Of drivers capable of making split-second decisions that can mean checkers or wreckers, of pit crews that fuel a car and change four tires in 12 seconds again and again, and of the thousands of bits and pieces of hardware and software that must work in concert under grueling conditions.

It’s about the brand-new 2014 Chevrolet SS, which debuted to the world at the Daytona 500 in February – and went on to notch Jimmie Johnson’s first win of the year. No car racing in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series has more in common with its road-going counterpart than the rear-wheel-drive, fuel-injected, V8-powered Chevrolet SS. The championship for the SS in its maiden year “is even more meaningful,” notes Pat Suhy, Chevrolet Racing NASCAR group manager, “and it shows what a great group of engineers and teams we have working together to achieve this level of success.”

Not to mention the Team Chevy drivers who contributed to the manufacturers’ points, including Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Gordon, Dale Earnhardt. Jr., Kevin Harvick, Kasey Kahne, Tony Stewart, Ryan Newman, Jamie McMurray, Jeff Burton, Juan Pablo Montoya and Kurt Busch. Our drivers are the best ambassadors Chevrolet has – and they have been since 1958, when Chevrolet won its very first NASCAR Manufacturers’ Cup.

Man and machine, innovating, testing, learning and perfecting technology that makes our cars, trucks and SUVs better. It’s that simple. And that complex. That’s our racing ethos.


Destination Freight Charges

To allow you to do an accurate price comparison with prices featured on other Internet sites, GM provides Internet pricing both with and without the Destination Freight Charge (see prices including Destination Freight Charge below). To get full pricing details, go to our Build Your Own section.