• Motorsports Motorsports
  • Popular
  • Recent

Chevrolet Builds on a Championship IZOD IndyCar Season in 2013

When the IZOD IndyCar Series decided it would change the engine formula for its racers for the 2012 season, it was the perfect time for Chevrolet to return to U.S. open wheel racing for the first time since 2005.

Seizing the opportunity, Team Chevy roared back to IndyCar as Ryan Hunter-Reay captured the overall Driver Championship and Chevrolet secured the Manufacturers’ Championship on the strength of 11 wins out of 15 races.

We don’t stop with success, however, we build on it. In 2013, Chevy will continue to chase victory with the same spirit and tenacity as in our return to IndyCar. This journey leads to innovation for our teams, our vehicles and our everyday Chevy drivers.

The Technology

Chevrolet was attracted by the brand-new engine formula – rather than use normally aspirated V8 engines, the new IndyCar engine would be a smaller 2.2-liter V6, though the power output would be comparable to the bigger V8.

This formula allows Chevrolet to demonstrate some of the key technologies already in play with Chevrolet passenger vehicles, such as the IndyCar engine’s twin turbochargers. On street vehicles, turbocharging allows for smaller engines to offer power comparable to larger ones, yet maintain an enhanced degree of fuel economy, since on passenger vehicles the turbos don’t engage unless the driver needs additional acceleration.

The IndyCar engine also uses direct injection technology, which delivers fuel more precisely to increase the efficiency of combustion, enabling more power while maintaining fuel economy and lowering emissions – including a 25% drop in cold-start hydrocarbon emissions.

And the Chevrolet IndyCar engine operates on E85 fuel, which is 85% renewable – a fuel source that multiple Chevrolet passenger vehicles can utilize.

See how Chevrolet is employing innovative technology to take IndyCar racing to the next level:

A total of seven organizations fielding 13 full-time cars will carry the Gold Bowtie as they take on the competition in 2013 powered by the purpose-built Chevrolet IndyCar twin-turbocharged, direct-injected 2.2 liter V-6 racing engine powered by renewable E85 ethanol fuel.

The 2013 Team

Andretti Autosport

#25 Marco Andretti

#1 Ryan Hunter-Reay

#27 James Hinchcliffe

#5 E.J. Viso



Ed Carpenter Racing

#20 Ed Carpenter



KV Racing Technology

#78 Simona De Silvestro

#11 Tony Kanaan



Panther Racing

#4 J.R. Hildebrand

Panther Dreyer and Reinbold Racing

#22 Oriol Servia



Team Penske

#2 A.J. Allmendinger

#12 Will Power

#3 Hélio Castroneves



Dragon Racing

#6 Sebastian Saavedra

#7 Sebastien Bourdais



Destination Freight Charges

To allow you to do an accurate price comparison with prices featured on other Internet sites, GM provides Internet pricing both with and without the Destination Freight Charge (see prices including Destination Freight Charge below). To get full pricing details, go to our Build Your Own section.